FIX: Windows 10 – iPhone / iPad won’t appear in iTunes and doesn’t show up under Device Manager

I had the following symptoms:

  • New install of Windows 10
  • Clean install of iTunes
  • Neither my iPhone or my iPad would connect to iTunes, it wouldn’t even try
  • Mobile Device Support was working as it should. (The service existed and was started).
  • Followed the instructions in this article, which didn’t help: https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT204095
  • Uninstalled & Reinstalled iTunes
  • Rebooted multiple times

No matter what I tried, I noticed that my devices refused to be recognized at all in Device Manager. They just weren’t there  at all. They weren’t listed under Universal Serial Bus Controllers, or under Other Devices. It just didn’t exist.

So try this solution if your iPhone or iPad won’t show up in iTunes, and when you look in Device Manager, you do not see anything listed when you plug it in. 

The solution for me ended up being pretty simple. I manually installed the driver from the folder on my computer, and it worked.

  1. First, make sure your iDevice is plugged in and iTunes is open
  2. Navigate to: C:\Program Files\Common Files\Apple\Mobile Device Support\Drivers
  3. Then right-click on this file: usbaapl64.inf and click “Install”

Here is a screenshot of the step:
usbaapl64-install

It should now install the driver, and your iDevice should show up in iTunes! I had to do this separately for both my iPhone and iPad, but now they show up from now on.

3 thoughts on “FIX: Windows 10 – iPhone / iPad won’t appear in iTunes and doesn’t show up under Device Manager

  1. Hi Aurelius, I use windows 7-64 and fixed my problems thanks to your guide. However things strike again and this time a fresh itunes install lets me reach my iphone again. With one difference though, I have my iphone both listed under usb and portable devices. I can import videos, pics and delete them. Is it ok that it appears under portable devices in the devmgmt? Thanks already

  2. I can’t tell you for certain it’s ok … In my own opinion, if it works and does what you need, then it seems fine! 🙂

  3. Thank you! I have been struggling with syncing my iphone with Windows 10 for over a month! This did it!

Leave a Reply

