Outlook 2007 Exchange Re-sort contacts to First Name Last Name

I was having some trouble re-sorting contacts to First Name, Last Name. The “typical” method was not working for me, but I found a VB Script that did it.

Here are the symptoms I was having: The normal way of fixing this was not working. Typically, you should be able to re-sort contacts this way:
1. Click Tools, Account Settings, go to the “Address Books” Tab, then click “Change…”
2. Change “Show names by” to “First Last (John Smith)”
3. Re-start Outlook

For some reason, this didn’t do anything for me.

You can run the macro listed in this post to change the way Outlook sorts contacts: http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/dd442441.aspx

First, you’ll want to set the sort order for new contacts, then use the macro to change it for existing contacts.

If you have no idea what I mean by “VB Macro”, I suggest you don’t try doing this.

Leave a Reply

